I should have bought my peppermint tea 11 hours earlier.

I am recently wallowing myself to gluttony. I fill every buffet table and the famous “eat-all-you can” offers around the metro. A father’s day date with my family that night. It’s been a while since the last time we dine together. It was fun! … I was bloated. I ate an Italian. Oh I mean pizzas and pastas. I can’t eat anymore nor ingest anything through my mouth. To ease the heavy feeling I opt for a cup of tea.

There was a small coffee shop in front of the restaurant where we ate… I saw her. She was there.  Facing people and smiling. She does the barista (the one who prep beverages) duties and the shopkeeper as well manning the shop.

She, one of my classmates in college not so long ago. She’s an acquaintance but never really got the chance to talk about things before. As far as I can remember back then, she was just simple. I saw her just smiling when everyone laughs their heart out. I can say she’s always consistent. Not flashy but noticeable… She’s pretty.

I approached her. She still does recognize me. If not my name, at least the scar I had on my left eye. I said, “Hi kath!” — She smiled at me, from there we had a connection as if I am saying, “It’s been a while. You’re still so pretty.” I ordered two peppermint tea for my dad and I — “Anything else sir?” … She called me “sir”. I felt a barrier. That moment she’s a waitress and I want a tea. She prepares the drink and from there, I just wish making a tea takes hours to finish. The time I wait for her to finish the tea, is the time we chat about things that doesn’t relate thesis, theology subject, Philippine history, food and beverages, food preparations, assignments, and school requirements. (we study hotel and restaurant management back then) I got my tea and left. The tea was great. It’s sweet and the warm paper holder is a bit loose for the cup.

The thing is, I really am easy to please. In food, I always have a hard time identifying what’s good or not. If I am hungry and you served me something, no matter how bland it taste like, as long as it fills me, I’ll be glad and satisfied. A movie shot on outdoors with sunlight and trees could already be considered a good movie for me but when a girl hit me, even if I knew it won’t last long, I can assure it’s beyond the usual infatuation. That’s what SHE was. Taking my first no-brainer step towards her, I bought pizza… for her and the other lady whom she worked with. (Yeah, I always try to win the hearts of the people around her first. Believe me. It’s winning half the battle and it never fails!)  The lady told me she left just five minutes when I came.

There’s no difference taking drugs and losing self to a woman. It’s addicting and you’ll never get enough. It’s a hormonal thing. Feeding my addiction, I resort to technology for information. I might be quite unskilled but looking for her took more time than putting a crying baby to sleep. Then I got into this…

 

 


She’s into someone and it’s the only 11-hours of my life that gave me an agonizing breath of remorse. Well, at the brighter side, It kicked me out of my insanity and it saved her from heartbreaks that she’ll endure if things turn out the crazy way. I might find my way in and steal the girl from his arms but if a woman cheats her way out of a commitment for someone, then how could you guarantee the same way won’t happen to that new guy? A woman who cheated himself in could also cheat himself out.

Ah well… I think this will be enough. This is too much for entertaining an emotion. I really am not that into commitment but I love making forest fires out of little matchsticks. I still believe in “love” and relationships but I think it’s not for me. I can’t think of myself being labeled as someone’s and be jailed inside a box called “commitment”. Yep I can say those things for now but only God knows. 😛

 

Oh! I noticed I can blog about woman a lot. LOL I just remembered a quote I heard from a movie I can’t recall where.

“The best thing to overcome a woman is to turn her into a literature.”

~ by Jimboy on July 17, 2011.

2 Responses to “I should have bought my peppermint tea 11 hours earlier.”

  1. fb stalker ka talaga! hahaha

  2. Inggit ka? hahahaha

Leave a comment